I’m itching to see some spring flowers

Purple Toronto tulips

Purple tulips, Toronto

If “April showers bring May flowers,” will someone tell me what April snow brings? Yes, it’s true. Toronto is in for snow this evening. See that wee snowflake coming out of the cloud in the forecast (left)? So depressing.April 22, 2015 weather

I know we can get cold weather well into springtime, but it doesn’t make it any less horrible when we do. Especially when I see images coming out of Washington DC and Victoria BC, with their beautiful cherry blossoms. For heaven’s sake, apparently the blossoms reached their peak on April 10th!

And here we are in Toronto on April 22nd about to get some snow. I’ve seen some crocuses pushing up out of the soil in the last couple of weeks, so I know spring is here…but it’s taking too long to get to the good stuff. I need some blossoms, leaves on trees, green grass and Farmers’ Markets. I want Toronto to look like this again:

I’ve even taken some of those pics above in late April of previous years. But we’re at least a couple of weeks away from any kind of lushness. So, to make myself feel a bit better, I decided to post some flora I’ve snapped pics of in my travels. I’m going to overdose on images of blooms and blossoms! Hopefully it won’t be too long before I can see some of these flowers in real life.

Here are some from my time in New Zealand:

And from travels in the U.S. and Scotland:

Leave a Reply

