A few of my favourite New Orleans things – 2015

My time in New Orleans is almost at an end sadly. I’ve seen a lot. Done a lot. Eaten a lot. And taken a LOT of pictures. Here, in no particular order, are a few of my favourite things from this trip…

Favourite Meal

I ate an absolutely phenomenal lunch at Couchon today. I had a local beer – a Suzy B blonde – and started with a salad. It was a carrot and cauliflower salad, with kale and pickled onion, raisins and pecans. Add in a little curried mayo, and the combination was delicious. I hope I can create something like it at home!

I was worried about my follow up small plate – the meat pie – but I shouldn’t have been. The pastry was light and flaky, the meat filling rich and tasty. And just the right amount of spice.

Honourable mention: Coquette, for the beautiful red snapper in citrus.

Favourite Store

Wandering along Julia Street in the Arts District, I found a wonderful shop called REpurposingNOLA. I wanted to buy half the shop. I did, in fact, purchase a purse. A wee shoulder bag. I still have my eye on a fabulous overnight bag, among other things. Totally unique and lovely – the bags are all made from repurposed items. And owner/designer Traci is as delightful as her beautiful bags.

Honourable mention: Grove Street Press, for their lovely letterpress goods. And their really sweet dog.

Favourite Sign

Dixie beer. I never got a chance to drink any, but apparently, it’s still available. No longer brewed in New Orleans, sadly. We saw this sign in Marigny, unearthed during a recent renovation. Beers, 13 cents and highballs at 35 cents. Ah, the good old days.

Dixie Beer sign, Marigny

Dixie Beer sign, Marigny

Honourable mention: Every single tiled street sign in New Orleans:

Favourite Tree

Well, I can’t actually pick just one tree. I love how the grand old oaks reach out across the roads, giving all that wonderful shade. But this one in Audubon Park was particularly fab the day I was there. All those gnarled branches stretching out. It almost looks as if it’s waving.

Audubon Park

Audubon Park

Just a taste of few of the best things in New Orleans. And I’ll leave you with a picture of one of my favourite Mardi Gras porches:

Mardi Gras beads

Mardi Gras beads

One thought on “A few of my favourite New Orleans things – 2015

  1. Pingback: More New Orleans Faves – 2015 | A Lens Full of Travel

Leave a Reply

