Travel as Pure Rebellion?

The folks at One World 365 tweeted this the other day. Most of these statements really resonated with me. And it made me think: Does travel really represent rebellion to me?

I’ve never been much of a rebel. I don’t think I could find a single person who would call me rebellious.

But if travel is rebellion, it’s only against my own complacency, my own simple comforts. Travel is often difficult, challenging. I tend to pay more attention to my surroundings. To people. To food. To vistas. To all the little things – both the beautiful and the tremendously frustrating. When I’m travelling, I learn. I get out of my easy routines, and have to solve problems and fly by the seat of my pants. That’s that whole “lose control willingly” item on that list.

I guess travel is what I do to rebel, just a little bit, against the regular routines of my own life.

But it’s the last sentence – “We, sometimes, choose never to come back” – that the one that doesn’t make any sense to me. I love the coming home part. Taking a fresh look and rediscovering my own city after being away (imagine how fun it was to come back to Toronto after living abroad for 4 years!). I like coming home to the people I love.

I truly think I wouldn’t appreciate my home half as much if I didn’t venture forth in my travels to learn something about the world. I don’t think I’ll ever choose never to come back.

One thought on “Travel as Pure Rebellion?

  1. Pingback: Travel as a form of rebellion – why you might never want to come home | The Past in the Present

Leave a Reply

